There was a nice piece this last week on a BBC radio programme, saying you can tell a lot about a person by the book they’re reading and inviting comments from listeners.

It struck a bell with me as the idea is linked to the whole concept of social computing and networking sites like MySpace. When a I buy a book, Amazon tells me that people selecting the same title, have bought other books I might be interested in – and usually I am. If I was told their names too, I’d probably like them and share a lot in common.

Yesterday there was a response to the original BBC piece – a real life story from a woman who was accosted by a man sitting down beside her on the train with the words: “My mother drew the illustration for the cover of the book you’re reading”. It was true and two years later they were married! Could there be a new formula here for dating sites?

